Day 3 – The slipstream is my friend!

Off from Arras bright and early. Fairly soon Sam came to my rescue as I was struggling and let me ride in his slipstream. Quite difficult to get used to at first but really made a difference. Made it to the first water stop really quickly – the lead group hadn’t even set off again yet!

Very short to lunch. Lots of first world war cemeteries on the route as we went through Somme country. Lunch in fantastic spot by lake. Only drawback was that it was at 32 miles out of a total 77 miles – not even half way.

Longest stage after lunch – 25 miles. Sam’s friend Harry caught up with us and decided to ride with Sam at my pace so I was now in slipstream of two people. That makes even more of a difference. Had to stop a couple of times to pop some pain killers as it got quite tough and I ended up at the back for the last two miles to the water stop. Not a disaster though.

Continued in slipstream after water stop. Harry coached me up the really big hill which helped a lot, as did the two mile descent on the other side! Ok from there to Compiegne. Last couple of miles really tough as I fell behind the pellaton at traffic lights. I was then on my own trying to get to the hotel – it was a lot further than you think.

Made it though, 77 miles – DONE! Tomorrow Paris. Bring it on!

~ by charlottepage on July 25, 2008.

Leave a comment